Clonazepam

Clonazepam

 
3.9 (6)
This page displays reviews written by users of all forms of Clonazepam. You can also choose to see reviews only for a specific medical condition or brand name.
Write Review

Reviews for Clonazepam

See reviews for a different combination of brand names and medical conditions:
     

Average user rating from: 6 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
3.9
 
3.8  (6)
 
4.0  (6)
 
3.9  (6)

Please register before leaving a review. (Registration is instant, takes less than one minute, and you will not have to leave this page.)

Benefits of registration:

  • Your review will be treated as more reliable by anyone who visits this site.
  • You will be notified if anyone comments on your review.
  • You will also become a member of the highly active Pharmacy Reviewer Forum.

Register now...

Already have an account?

Alternatively you can leave a review semi-anonymously using the form below. (Please note that we manually check each review before publication and your email address must be valid in case we need to confirm aspects of your review with you.)

In all cases your details will remain confidential and will never be sold or shared.

By registering you will become a member of the Pharmacy Reviewer Forum, but you must agree to the Forum Rules.
Register
Relevant Brand Name and Medical Condition
Additional Information
Ratings (the higher the better)
  • Overall satisfaction
  • Efficacy
  • Lack of side effects
Please tell us about your experience with this medicine

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
More than 2 years
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction 
 
4.5
Efficacy  
 
4.5
Lack of side effects 
 
4.5
Reviewed by robynz March 12, 2014
Last updated: March 13, 2014
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (7)
robynz is a member of the Pharmacy Reviewer forum
Total Posts: 69
Reputation Score: 76
User Title: Lapsed Senior Member

Generic Klonopin

I have suffered from bad anxiety almost my entire life. I am 42. I have taken Xanax and Ativan. I take 2 mg of generic Klonopin every day. It completely controls my anxiety. Just this month, I had two very bad anxiety attacks, the kind where my fiance was ready to call 911 because I couldn't catch my breath. They were due to feelings about bad family issues that suddenly came out. He gave me the Klonopin and within 15 minutes I was OK. Klonopin works for me.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Relevant Brand Name and Medical Condition

Brand Name
Klonopin
Medical Condition
Panic Disorder

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
0-1 months
Overall rating 
 
0.5
Overall satisfaction 
 
0.5
Efficacy  
 
0.5
Lack of side effects 
 
0.5
February 25, 2014
Reviewed anonymously by a forum member

Klonopin is weak

Weak benzo, in my opinion. I have used them all, Ativan, Xanax, Valium, Klonopin... Klonopin is weak. My tolerance is so high to medications this was almost ineffective. I have to take 5mg valium for it to do any kind of calming for anxiety. Benzos almost seem worthless to me. I have had better relaxation with Clonidine.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Relevant Brand Name and Medical Condition

Brand Name
Klonopin
Medical Condition
Panic Disorder

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
1 month - 6 months
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Overall satisfaction 
 
4.5
Efficacy  
 
4.5
Lack of side effects 
 
5.0
February 25, 2014
Reviewed anonymously by a forum member

I am 59

I have been on this medication a couple of months and it is wonderful. I am calm and can function without all the anxiety that I am so used to feeling that keeps me a mess so that I can't get anything accomplished. I would like to stay on this the rest of my life. I am 59.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Relevant Brand Name and Medical Condition

Brand Name
Klonopin
Medical Condition
Panic Disorder

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
6 months - 2 years
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction 
 
4.5
Efficacy  
 
4.5
Lack of side effects 
 
4.5
February 25, 2014
Reviewed anonymously by a forum member

I've been taking the pills for around 1.5 years

This medication is awesome, I feel at ease taking this medication I've been taking the pills for around 1.5 years now and my Dr recently increased my doseage to keep me calm and relaxed in my stressful work place "Telecommunications Call Center Agent".

Was this review helpful to you? 

Relevant Brand Name and Medical Condition

Brand Name
Klonopin
Medical Condition
Panic Disorder

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
More than 2 years
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction 
 
5.0
Efficacy  
 
5.0
Lack of side effects 
 
5.0
February 25, 2014
Reviewed anonymously by a forum member

First time I took it

I have been taking Klonopin since June 2012, before Klonopin I could not go anywhere without the fear of having a panic attack, first time I took it, it worked great! I have had decreased anxiety since then, Klonopin gave me my ability to enjoy life back! I take 0.25mg 2x daily along with 50mg of Zoloft 1x daily

Was this review helpful to you? 

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
More than 2 years
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Overall satisfaction 
 
4.0
Efficacy  
 
5.0
Lack of side effects 
 
4.0
Reviewed by WhatWeDoIsSecret January 30, 2014
Last updated: January 30, 2014

Effective for Anxiety Relief

I was prescribed first 0.5 and then 1 mg of Klonopin to be used periodically to relieve temporary symptoms of anxiety episodes or attacks. I was not instructed to take it daily, nor did I. I took it whenever I felt the physical and mental symptoms of anxiety disorder become too overwhelming. Klonopin was extremely effective in this regard. Within fifteen minutes my symptoms had subsided and I felt at ease. Taken as directed, not daily, I felt no tolerance or habituation issues as would usually be expected with a benzodiazepine. The only noticeable side effect was tiredness, which was manageable. Recommended for sporadic use, but not daily. Also I would avoid it if you have a tendency to abuse/misuse substances, as their is some noticeable euphoria at 1 mg, which only increases at higher doses.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

More about Clonazepam

What is/are Clonazepam?

Clonazepam is a benzodiazepine drug having anxiolytic, anticonvulsant, muscle relaxant, sedative, and hypnotic properties. It is marketed by Roche under the trade name Klonopin in the United States, Rivotril in Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, Costa Rica and Italy, and linotril in India, South Korea, Mexico and Europe. Other names such as Ravotril, Rivatril, Clonex, Paxam, Petril or Kriadex are known throughout the rest of the world. Clonazepam has an unusually long elimination half-life of 18–50 hours, making it generally considered to be among the long-acting benzodiazepines. Clonazepam is a chlorinated derivative of nitrazepam and therefore a chloro-nitrobenzodiazepine.

Clonazepam has an intermediate onset of action, with a peak blood levels occurring one to four hours after oral administration. It has high effectiveness rate and low toxicity in overdose but, as most medications, it may have drawbacks due to adverse reactions including paradoxical effects and drowsiness. Other long-term effects of benzodiazepines include tolerance, benzodiazepine dependence, and benzodiazepine withdrawal syndrome, which occurs in a third of people treated with clonazepam for longer than four weeks. Clonazepam is classified as a high potency benzodiazepine.

The benzodiazepine clorazepate may be an alternative to clonazepam due to a slow onset of tolerance and availability in slow-release formulation to counter fluctuations in blood levels. The pharmacological property of clonazepam as with other benzodiazepines is the enhancement of the neurotransmitter GABA via modulation of the GABAA receptor.

Medical uses

Clonazepam may be prescribed for epilepsy. Clonazepam is approved by the Food and Drug Administration for treatment of epilepsy and Panic Disorder. It is approved for treatment of typical and atypical absences, infantile myoclonic, myoclonic and akinetic seizures  and also as a second-line agent. An open label study suggested that the combination of valproate, lamotrigine, and a benzodiazepine such as clonazepam could markedly reduce the frequency of drop attacks in patients with generalized or multifocal epilepsies. A subgroup of people with treatment resistant epilepsy may benefit from long-term use of clonazepam; the benzodiazepine clorazepate may be an alternative due to its slow onset of tolerance.

Clonazepam has been found effective in treating epilepsy in children, and the inhibition of seizure activity seemed to be achieved already at low plasma levels of clonazepam. Thus clonazepam is sometimes used for certain rare childhood epilepsies. However, it has been found to be ineffective in the control of infantile spasms. Clonazepam is less effective and potent as an anticonvulsant in bringing infantile seizures under control compared with nitrazepam in the treatment of West syndrome, which is an age-dependent epilepsy affecting the very young.

Clonazepam is mainly prescribed for the acute management of epilepsies. Clonazepam has been found to be effective in the acute control of nonconvulsive status epilepticus. However, the benefits tended to be transient in many of the patients, and the addition of phenytoin for lasting control was required in these patients.

Clonazepam has also been found effective in treating:

  • Anxiety disorders
  • Certain types of migraines
  • Panic disorder
  • Initial treatment of mania or acute psychosis together with firstline drugs such as lithium, haloperidol or risperidone
  • For the management of the visual effects of HPPD
  • Hyperekplexia
  • Many forms of parasomnia are sometimes treated with clonazepam. Restless legs syndrome can be treated using clonazepam as a third line treatment option as the use of clonazepam is still investigational. Bruxism also responds to clonazepam in the short-term Rapid eye movement behavior disorder responds well to low doses of clonazepam.
  • The treatment of acute and chronic akathisia induced by neuroleptics also called antipsychotics.
  • Spasticity related to amyotrophic lateral sclerosis.

The effectiveness of clonazepam in the short-term treatment of panic disorder has been demonstrated in controlled clinical trials. Some long-term trials have suggested a benefit of clonazepam for up to three years without the development of tolerance but these trials were not placebo controlled. Clonazepam is also effective in the management of acute mania.

Clonazepam has shown itself to be highly effective as a short-term (3 weeks) adjunct to SSRI treatment in obsessive-compulsive disorder and clinical depression in reducing SSRI side effects with the combination being superior to SSRI treatment alone in a study funded by the manufacturers of clonazepam, Hoffman LaRoche Inc. However, clonazepam may aggravate or cause major depressive disorder (clinical depression) and/or increase anxiety in the long-run, similar to other benzodiazepines in general. Clonazepam may help reduce the severity of tinnitus symptoms.

Formulations

Clonazepam was approved in the United States as a generic drug in 1997 and is now manufactured and marketed by several companies.

Clonazepam is available as tablets (0.25 mg, 0.5 mg, 1.0 mg, 2.0 mg) and orally disintegrating tablets (wafers) (0.5 mg), an oral solution (drops), and as a solution for injection or intravenous infusion.

Special precautions

The elderly metabolise benzodiazepines more slowly than younger individuals and are also more sensitive to the effects of benzodiazepines even at similar blood plasma levels. Doses for the elderly are recommended to be about half of that given to younger adults and given for no longer than 2 weeks. Long-acting benzodiazepines such as clonazepam are not generally recommended for the elderly due the risk of drug accumulation.

Caution in the elderly: increased risk of impairments, falls and drug accumulation. Benzodiazepines also require special precaution if used in pregnant, alcohol- or drug-dependent individuals and individuals with comorbid psychiatric disorders. Clonazepam is generally not recommended for use in elderly people for insomnia due to its high potency relative to other benzodiazepines.

Caution in children: Clonazepam is not recommended for use in those under 18. Use in very young children may be especially hazardous. Of anticonvulsant drugs behavioural disturbances occur most frequently with clonazepam and phenobarbital.

Caution using high dosages of clonazepam. Doses higher than 0.5 – 1 mg per day are associated with significant sedation.

Clonazepam may aggravate hepatic porphyria.

Caution in chronic schizophrenia. A 1982 double blinded placebo controlled study found clonazepam increases violent behavior in individuals with chronic schizophrenia.

Mechanism of action

Clonazepam exerts its action by binding to the benzodiazepine site of the GABA receptors, which causes an enhancement of the electric effect of GABA binding on neurons, resulting in an increased influx of chloride ions into the neurons. This results in an inhibition of synaptic transmission across the central nervous system.

Benzodiazepines do not have any effect on the levels of GABA in the brain. Clonazepam has no effect on GABA levels and has no effect on gamma-aminobutyric acid transaminase. Clonazepam does however affect glutamate decarboxylase activity. It differs insofar from other anticonvulsant drugs it was compared to in a study. Benzodiazepine receptors are found in the central nervous system but are also found in a wide range of peripheral tissues such as longitudinal smooth muscle-myenteric plexus layer, lung, liver and kidney as well as mast cells, platelets, lymphocytes, heart and numerous neuronal and non-neuronal cell lines.

Pharmacokinetics

Clonazepam is lipid soluble, and rapidly crosses the blood–brain barrier and penetrates the placenta. It is extensively metabolised into pharmacologically inactive metabolites. Clonazepam is metabolized extensively via nitroreduction by cytochrome P450 enzymes, particularly CYP2C19 and to a lesser extent CYP3A4. Erythromycin, clarithromycin, ritonavir, itraconazole, ketoconazole, nefazodone, and grapefruit juice are inhibitors of CYP3A4 and can affect the metabolism of benzodiazepines. It has an elimination half-life of 19–60 hours Peak blood concentrations of 6.5–13.5 ng/mL were usually reached within 1–2 hours following a single 2 mg oral dose of micronized clonazepam in healthy adults. In some individuals, however, peak blood concentrations were reached at 4–8 hours.

Clonazepam passes rapidly into the central nervous system, with levels in the brain corresponding with levels of unbound clonazepam in the blood serum. Clonazepam plasma levels are very unreliable amongst patients. Plasma levels of clonazepam can vary as much as tenfold between different patients.

Clonazepam is largely bound to plasma proteins. Clonazepam passes through the blood–brain barrier easily, with blood and brain levels corresponding equally with each other. The metabolites of clonazepam include 7-aminoclonazepam, 7-acetaminoclonazepam and 3-hydroxy clonazepam.

Recreational use

A 2006 US government study of nationwide emergency department (ED) visits conducted by SAMHSA found that sedative-hypnotics in the USA were the most frequently implicated pharmaceutical drug in ED visits. Benzodiazepines accounted for the majority of these. Clonazepam was the second most frequently implicated benzodiazepine in ED visits in the study. The study examined the number of times non-medical use of certain drugs were implicated in ED visits; the criteria for non-medical use in this study were purposefully broad, and include for example, drug abuse, accidental or intentional overdose, or adverse reactions resulting from legitimate use of the medication.

This article uses material from the Wikipedia article Clonazepam, which is released under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share-Alike License 3.0.


Medicine Photos

Hover or click on a photo to enlarge it.

Medicine containing Clonazepam

This page uses publicly available data from the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), National Institutes of Health, Department of Health and Human Services; NLM is not responsible for the page and product and does not endorse or recommend this or any other product.