Phentermine

Phentermine Hot

 
4.0 (9)
This page displays reviews written by users of all forms of Phentermine. You can also choose to see reviews only for a specific medical condition or brand name.
Write Review

Reviews for Phentermine

See reviews for a different combination of brand names and medical conditions:
     

Average user rating from: 9 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
4.0
 
4.1  (9)
 
4.1  (9)
 
3.8  (9)

Please register before leaving a review. (Registration is instant, takes less than one minute, and you will not have to leave this page.)

Benefits of registration:

  • Your review will be treated as more reliable by anyone who visits this site.
  • You will be notified if anyone comments on your review.
  • You will also become a member of the highly active Pharmacy Reviewer Forum.

Register now...

Already have an account?

Alternatively you can leave a review semi-anonymously using the form below. (Please note that we manually check each review before publication and your email address must be valid in case we need to confirm aspects of your review with you.)

In all cases your details will remain confidential and will never be sold or shared.

By registering you will become a member of the Pharmacy Reviewer Forum, but you must agree to the Forum Rules.
Register
Relevant Brand Name and Medical Condition
Additional Information
Ratings (the higher the better)
  • Overall satisfaction
  • Efficacy
  • Lack of side effects
Please tell us about your experience with this medicine

Relevant Brand Name and Medical Condition

Brand Name
Adipex P
Medical Condition
Weight Loss

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
6 months - 2 years
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction 
 
5.0
Efficacy  
 
4.0
Lack of side effects 
 
3.0
Reviewed by LindaHed July 28, 2017
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (3)
LindaHed is a member of the Pharmacy Reviewer forum
Total Posts: 71
Reputation Score: 41
User Title: Senior Member

Works with Topiramate GREAT

Took it for three years lost 120 lb, but I was taking it together with Topiramatom. Maybe the synergetic effect worked so well, but I am very happy. And as for side effects is only rapid heart beat and dry mouth.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
6 months - 2 years
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction 
 
5.0
Efficacy  
 
5.0
Lack of side effects 
 
5.0
Reviewed by raven58 June 24, 2014

Great appetite suppressant! It will definitely hel

lost the weight I wanted to lose. Would buy again.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
1 month - 6 months
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Overall satisfaction 
 
2.0
Efficacy  
 
3.0
Lack of side effects 
 
3.0
Reviewed by Mark Olson April 11, 2014
Last updated: April 12, 2014

Weight loss Meds Work Good

I started taking phentermine due to being overweight . I lost 20 lbs in 1 month. This medication is works better and effective than any other medication i know for weight loss purpose . I want to continue and lose at least weight to be at a healthy weight. This is the best diet Supplement .

Was this review helpful to you? 

Relevant Brand Name and Medical Condition

Brand Name
Phentermine Trenker
Medical Condition
Weight Loss

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
0-1 months
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction 
 
5.0
Efficacy  
 
5.0
Lack of side effects 
 
5.0
February 20, 2014
Reviewed anonymously by a forum member

This medication works great

This medication works great, it is wonderful to control cravings since you have no appetite. I lost10 pounds in the first two weeks. In the 3rd week, I haven't lost any weight, then I realized I've been eating about 900 calories a day. You really need to make sure you are getting the calories your body needs to function or you won't lose any weight. Will up my calories with healthy food choices to get my metabolism back on track.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Relevant Brand Name and Medical Condition

Brand Name
Phentermine Trenker
Medical Condition
Weight Loss

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
0-1 months
Overall rating 
 
0.8
Overall satisfaction 
 
1.0
Efficacy  
 
1.0
Lack of side effects 
 
0.5
February 20, 2014
Reviewed anonymously by a forum member

Please reconsider your options!

My mother took this drug for less than three weeks. She was hospitalized with difficulty breathing and chest pains. A false diagnosis of atypical pneumonia left her helpless for three nights in the hospital. On the third night she was in a desperate fight for her life. Luckily someone thought to call in a cardiologisShe one of the flaps on her hearts valve had torn (the cords which make it function), so blood that should have been pumped to her body was being pumped into her lungs. She had an emergency proceedure to insert a balloon through an artery to help push most of the blood to her body. That saved her life. Two days later she had open heart surgery to repair her valve. The doctors say that it was most likely a side effect of taking this drug. The surgeon said that, other than the valve, her heart was in pristine condition. She is still in the hospital (2 weeks so far). Please reconsider your options! Some side effects are rare, but they do happen.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Relevant Brand Name and Medical Condition

Brand Name
Phentermine Trenker
Medical Condition
Weight Loss

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
0-1 months
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction 
 
5.0
Efficacy  
 
5.0
Lack of side effects 
 
5.0
February 20, 2014
Reviewed anonymously by a forum member

I lost 10 lbs in 2 weeks

I started taking phentermine due to being overweight and having back problems. I lost 10 lbs in 2 weeks. It is very effective. I hope to continue and lose 20 lbs to be at a healthy weight. This is the best diet suppresant. I had dry mouth but I drank lots of water.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Relevant Brand Name and Medical Condition

Brand Name
Phentermine Trenker
Medical Condition
Weight Loss

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
1 month - 6 months
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction 
 
5.0
Efficacy  
 
5.0
Lack of side effects 
 
4.5
February 20, 2014
Reviewed anonymously by a forum member

It helped my asthma

This medication worked very well for me. I was on it for 6 months and lost 38 lbs, it also seemed to help my migraines. I only had 2 the whole time I was on the medicine. By losing this weight it helped my asthma.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Relevant Brand Name and Medical Condition

Brand Name
Generic Adipex-P
Medical Condition
Weight Loss

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
6 months - 2 years
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Overall satisfaction 
 
5.0
Efficacy  
 
5.0
Lack of side effects 
 
4.0
Reviewed by M_Aria January 26, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Phentermine suppresses appetite!

This medication suppressed my appetite extremely effectively and helped me to lose 40 pounds over a period of time that also taught me how to keep it off. It definitely does have an amphetamine-like quality and therefore I didn't drink coffee in the morning while I was taking it. It's also a diuretic so make sure to drink enough water or you can risk dehydration, however, you'll feel thirsty and should have little trouble moderating that issue. At least, I didn't. I am a fan of this medication. I would recommend it to anyone, but I was under the care of a licensed physician and do think that was important with this medication.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Relevant Brand Name and Medical Condition

Medical Condition
Weight Loss

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
6 months - 2 years
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction 
 
4.0
Efficacy  
 
4.0
Lack of side effects 
 
4.0
Reviewed by JohnWall January 25, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)
JohnWall is a member of the Pharmacy Reviewer forum
Total Posts: 127
Reputation Score: 114
User Title: Senior Member

Itravil (Not listed under 'Brand Name'

Hey guys, I had been taking an anorexic agent called "Itravil" (Clobenzorex). Was able to order from Mexican OP which has recently gone belly-up; still looking for new OP source - to no avail as yet. :( Nonetheless, I wanted to add my two cents about this particular brand. I found Itravil to be very effective for energy, concentration, and as an appetite suppressant. Of note, I never experienced any untoward side-effects. Hope this proves helpful! John Wall

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

More about Phentermine

What is/are Phentermine?

Phentermine, a contraction of "phenyl-tertiary-butylamine", is a psychostimulant drug of the phenethylamine class, with pharmacology similar to amphetamine. It is used medically as an appetite suppressant.

It is approved as an appetite suppressant to help reduce weight in obese patients when used short-term and combined with exercise, diet, and behavioral modification. It is typically prescribed for individuals who are at increased medical risk due to their weight.

Medical uses

Phentermine is used for the short-term treatment of obesity.

Adverse effects

Generally, phentermine appears to be relatively well tolerated. It can produce side effects consistent with its catecholamine-releasing properties, e.g., tachycardia (increased heart rate) and elevated blood pressure, but the incidence and magnitude of these appear to be less than with the amphetamines. Because phentermine acts through sympathomimetic pathways, the drug may increase blood pressure and heart rate. It may also cause palpitations, restlessness, and insomnia. Additionally, phentermine has the potential to cause psychological dependence.

After short-term use, tolerance begins and can be followed by rebound weight gain. Long term data for use of phentermine shows no net weight loss.

Cardiovascular side effects include palpitations, tachycardia, and elevation of blood pressure. In the central nervous system, it can cause overstimulation, restlessness, dizziness, insomnia, euphoria, dysphoria, tremor, and headache. Its gastrointestinal effects include dryness of the mouth, unpleasant taste, diarrhea, constipation, and other gastrointestinal disturbances. It may also cause allergic effects - urticaria and changes in libido.

Its less common, but more severe, side effects include:
  •     Convulsions (seizures)
  •     Fever
  •     Hallucinations
  •     Agitation and aggression
  •     Bizarre behavior
  •     Mental or mood changes
  •     Exaggerated sense of well-being
  •     Increased blood pressure
  •     Severe or persistent light-headedness, fainting or headache
  •     Periods of mania followed by period of depression
  •     Fast or irregular heartbeat
  •     Overactive reflexes
  •     Tremors, trembling or shaking
  •     Panic
  •     Restlessness
  •     Severe nausea, vomiting or diarrhea
  •     Stomach cramps
  •     Weakness
  •     Constipation
  •     Primary pulmonary hypertension
  •     Regurgitant cardiac valvular disease
  •     Pounding in the chest or shortness of breath

Cautions

Phentermine use is contraindicated in those who are:
  •     Allergic to phentermine, any of its metabolites or other sympathomimetics (e.g., pseudoephedrine)
  •     Taking amphetamine (i.e., Adderall, Dexedrine, Vyvanse), dexfenfluramine, fenfluramine, furazolidone, guanadrel, guanethidine, or have taken a monoamine oxidase inhibitor (MAOI) (e.g., phenelzine) in the last 14 days
  •     Subject to severe high blood pressure, an overactive thyroid, glaucoma, heart or blood vessel disease, severe narrowing of the blood vessels, diabetes, a brain or spinal cord disorder, hardening of the arteries, or high cholesterol or lipid levels
  •     In an agitated state, or have a history of substance abuse
  •     Pregnant, planning to become pregnant, or are breast-feeding


Medicines which may interact with phentermine, such as dexfenfluramine, fenfluramine, furazolidone, or MAOIs (e.g., phenelzine) are contraindicated because of the risk of serious side effects, such as increasing headache, high blood pressure, slow heart rate, elevated temperature, or possibly fatal lung problems, may be increased. Guanadrel (Hylorel) or guanethidine (Ismelin) effectiveness may be decreased by phentermine. Antacids may decrease the excretion of phentermine.[3] Carbonic anhydrase inhibitors (acetazolamide, dichlorphenamide, methazolamide) may decrease the excretion of phentermine.[ 

Mechanism of action

Phentermine works on the hypothalamus portion of the brain to stimulate the adrenal glands to release norepinephrine, a neurotransmitter or chemical messenger that signals a fight-or-flight response, reducing hunger. Phentermine works outside the brain, as well, to release epinephrine or adrenaline, causing fat cells to break down stored fat, but the principal basis of efficacy is hunger-reduction. At clinically relevant doses, phentermine also releases serotonin and dopamine, but to a much lesser extent than that of norepinephrine.

This article uses material from the Wikipedia article Phentermine, which is released under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share-Alike License 3.0.

Medicine Photos

Hover or click on a photo to enlarge it.

Medicine containing Phentermine

This page uses publicly available data from the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), National Institutes of Health, Department of Health and Human Services; NLM is not responsible for the page and product and does not endorse or recommend this or any other product.