Tramadol

Tramadol Hot

 
3.5 (11)
This page displays reviews written by users of all forms of Tramadol. You can also choose to see reviews only for a specific medical condition or brand name.
Write Review

Reviews for Tramadol

See reviews for a different combination of brand names and medical conditions:
     

Average user rating from: 11 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
3.5
 
3.6  (11)
 
3.6  (11)
 
3.3  (11)

Please register before leaving a review. (Registration is instant, takes less than one minute, and you will not have to leave this page.)

Benefits of registration:

  • Your review will be treated as more reliable by anyone who visits this site.
  • You will be notified if anyone comments on your review.
  • You will also become a member of the highly active Pharmacy Reviewer Forum.

Register now...

Already have an account?

Alternatively you can leave a review semi-anonymously using the form below. (Please note that we manually check each review before publication and your email address must be valid in case we need to confirm aspects of your review with you.)

In all cases your details will remain confidential and will never be sold or shared.

By registering you will become a member of the Pharmacy Reviewer Forum, but you must agree to the Forum Rules.
Register
Relevant Brand Name and Medical Condition
Additional Information
Ratings (the higher the better)
  • Overall satisfaction
  • Efficacy
  • Lack of side effects
Please tell us about your experience with this medicine

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
More than 2 years
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Overall satisfaction 
 
3.5
Efficacy  
 
4.0
Lack of side effects 
 
4.0
Reviewed by kimmykat July 11, 2015
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)
kimmykat is a member of the Pharmacy Reviewer forum
Total Posts: 28
Reputation Score: 29
User Title: Member

Tramadol for pain, works for me

I have fallen arches, ligament and nerve damage in my feet. I can't even go grocery shopping with out regretting it the next day. I've tried anti-inflammatories, hydrocodone, $400 insoles, and tramadol.
I took hydrocodone (5-15 mg a day) for years before I found tramadol. It worked for a long time but then became not as effective (only helped for 2hrs max). Also I was self medicating as this was before any diagnosis so it became quite pricy and hard to find.
So after finally being diagnosed I discovered tramadol. It kills the pain for much longer (5-8 hours). Also I don't feel as messed up. There is a buzz, especially when you first start taking it, but it doesn't make you as fuzzy. I currently take 150-200 mg a day.
It is the only thing that works for me.
Unfortunately it is incredibly habit forming and the withdrawals are horrible. I took loritabs for years (1 or 2 10mg tabs every day) and never experienced withdrawal symptoms like this. So it's a slippery slope my friends but when you have pain and your livelihood depends on your ability to work, you make tough decisions.
In short: works great for pain, may make you a little drowsy at first but this passes, can cause constipation like opioids, addictive so use caution and stick to your prescribed dosage. Maybe not a good idea for people with substance abuse problems.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
0-1 months
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction 
 
3.0
Efficacy  
 
3.0
Lack of side effects 
 
3.0
Reviewed by marie persson October 11, 2014

Ischias-pain on the right side/postop tumor on the

My experiense is that I have much less pain with this medication!
I`m much more variable. This means I can take walks with my dog.
I want to get asleep at night, without "running up and down" in pain.
Hope you can help me as soon as possible
Dearest regards Marie Persson

Was this review helpful to you? 

Relevant Brand Name and Medical Condition

Brand Name
Generic Ultram
Medical Condition
Pain

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
More than 2 years
Overall rating 
 
1.8
Overall satisfaction 
 
3.0
Efficacy  
 
2.0
Lack of side effects 
 
0.5
Reviewed by mrskrabs May 28, 2014
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)
mrskrabs is a member of the Pharmacy Reviewer forum
Total Posts: 183
Reputation Score: 204
User Title: Senior Member

Beware.

There are two kinds of people: people who hate tramadol and people who LOVE tramadol. Both of these groups should probably stay away from this drug. I've been taking tramadol for close to 15 years and it does absolutely nothing to help with pain. I get a stronger effect from advil, seriously. But tramadol does have an anti-depressant effect that I can't seem to fully give up. I basically take it simply to avoid withdrawal symptoms. I wouldn't really call that an effective medicine. It does work at first though, I will give it that. And by "at first" I mean for the first few years. But you won't find many long time users who are excited about taking this crap anymore. We just have to or feel the wrath of depression. We don't even have the benefit of getting high off of this drug, it may be even dumber than smoking cigarettes. Ok, maybe its not as bad as that. At least it's a less expensive habit than pretty much anything else.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
More than 2 years
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction 
 
5.0
Efficacy  
 
5.0
Lack of side effects 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Mark Olson April 11, 2014
Last updated: April 12, 2014

my dr prescribed fioricet for tension headaches.

My dr prescribed fioricet for tension headaches. I have been Taking this Medication from Last 6 months and it Help me in headache . I m Satisfied With the Quality which i m getting From my Online Pharmacy Person . they have good Services and And Quality Medication .

Was this review helpful to you? 

Relevant Brand Name and Medical Condition

Brand Name
Tramadolor
Medical Condition
Pain

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
6 months - 2 years
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction 
 
4.5
Efficacy  
 
4.5
Lack of side effects 
 
4.5
February 18, 2014
Reviewed anonymously by a forum member

I can even handle stress better

I feel much better overall I can even handle stress better and it has helped with anxiety and depression as well

Was this review helpful to you? 

Relevant Brand Name and Medical Condition

Brand Name
Tramadolor
Medical Condition
Pain

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
6 months - 2 years
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Overall satisfaction 
 
4.5
Efficacy  
 
4.5
Lack of side effects 
 
4.0
February 18, 2014
Reviewed anonymously by a forum member

It worked great for me

I was diagnosed with ovarian cancer in Nov 2012, had surgery, went through chemo treatments and took this drug for pain. It worked great for me, relieved the pain associated with surgery and helped with anxiety also.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Relevant Brand Name and Medical Condition

Brand Name
Tramadolor
Medical Condition
Pain

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
0-1 months
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Overall satisfaction 
 
4.0
Efficacy  
 
3.5
Lack of side effects 
 
3.5
February 18, 2014
Reviewed anonymously by a forum member

Cause me headaches

Taken for pain and although helpful it can cause me headaches.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Relevant Brand Name and Medical Condition

Brand Name
Tramadolor
Medical Condition
Pain

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
More than 2 years
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Overall satisfaction 
 
4.0
Efficacy  
 
4.0
Lack of side effects 
 
3.5
February 18, 2014
Reviewed anonymously by a forum member

Excellent pain medication

I have taken Tramadol for 2years for pain.It makes dialy chores so much easier. I have no side effects,I can work,drive and sleep using it. I take 200 miligrams a day. Excellent pain medication.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Relevant Brand Name and Medical Condition

Brand Name
Ultram
Medical Condition
Pain

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
0-1 months
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Overall satisfaction 
 
3.0
Efficacy  
 
4.0
Lack of side effects 
 
3.0
February 18, 2014
Reviewed anonymously by a forum member

For moderate pain this drug works fine

For moderate pain this drug works fine. The worst side effect is the drowsiness. This medication makes me more SLEEPY then any pain med I have EVER tried!It makes it so difficult to use during the day when you need to work and or get things done. I really wish there was a pain medication out there that is effective for pain -yet- does not make you so drowsy that you can't take it during the day.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Relevant Brand Name and Medical Condition

Brand Name
Ultram
Medical Condition
Pain

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
1 month - 6 months
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Overall satisfaction 
 
2.0
Efficacy  
 
2.5
Lack of side effects 
 
3.0
February 18, 2014
Reviewed anonymously by a forum member

It is a zero

Given to me after experiencing a fall(from blacking out) resulting in a broken neck, badly sprained ankle and broken arm. Rest X 10 weeks. Pain is increasing since incident. This drug does nothing to alleviate the pain. I think I sometimes feel worse than if I took nothing. I am shocked that people find it at all effective. I told my doc to find something else for me. It is a zero in my book for relieving my pain.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
6 months - 2 years
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Overall satisfaction 
 
3.0
Efficacy  
 
3.0
Lack of side effects 
 
2.5
Reviewed by sherrer January 23, 2014
Last updated: January 24, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)
sherrer is a member of the Pharmacy Reviewer forum
Total Posts: 97
Reputation Score: 83
User Title: Senior Member

Two very different tramal expiriences

first time i came into contact when i w/d from the great white.
(color white because this was the color i got it.this is why i did not understand for a long time what
brown sugar ought to be)
the first 4-5 days i took 200-300 mg every 4-5 hours,it kept the bone pain away. it really brightened my mood and helped with the wd
ALOT. as time went by i tapered down to 100 mg / 3 times a day.
this went on for a year or so,but by then i had problems falling asleep.
ok, so i took xanax to fall asleep.but i could sleep only 4 hours at night and would feel groggy all day.
because could'nt sleep more than 4 hours a time ,i felt very bad after getting up ,bones aching,depressed.
to get it out of my system, i went to sauna every other day.by then i went to another place and could not get it anymore and had cold turkey w/d.
AUTSCH !
a few years later a dr prescribed lquid tramal.i did not take any opiates for quite some time then .what a difference exp from the first time!
Initially, tramal induced a very strong euphoria not unlike the euphoria of a true opiate(close to my beloved white), but distinctly different.
It caused complete euphoria and calm at the same time.it allowing me to nod on it if I wanted, or be out and about on it if I wanted. It was always stimulating, in that it was less "apathetic" for lack of a better term than the white opioid, but quite sedating, too.
so the second time around i was pleased with the generally subtle, mood-lifting and comforting effects.also no prob sleeping the night through.
secound time round i just took 200-300 mg a time a day..and then 2-3 day off.
a real kicker was when mixed it with low dose lorazepam (and some cannabis)
another change in location and i was off it after 4 months .



Was this review helpful to you? 
 

More about Tramadol

What are tramadol tablets ?

TRAMADOL (Ultram®) is an analgesic that can relieve moderate to moderately severe pain following surgery such as cesarean section, hysterectomy, hip replacement or other bone surgery, and dental surgery. This drug also helps relieve chronic pain associated with cancer, nerve pain, or low-back pain. Generic tramadol tablets are available.

What should I tell my health care provider before I take this medicine?

They need to know if you have any of these conditions:
• an alcohol or drug abuse problem
• breathing difficulty
• head injury or brain tumor
• kidney disease
• liver disease
• seizures (convulsions) or seizure disorder (epilepsy)
• stomach or intestinal problems
• an unusual or allergic reaction to tramadol, codeine, other pain medicines, foods, dyes, or preservatives
• pregnant or trying to get pregnant
• breast-feeding

How should I take this medicine?

Take tramadol tablets by mouth. Follow the directions on the prescription label. Swallow the tablets with a drink of water. If tramadol upsets your stomach, take it with food or milk. Do not take more than 100 mg of tramadol at one time or more than 400 mg of tramadol per day. Older patients (more than 75 years of age) should not take more than 300 mg of tramadol per day. Higher doses may cause severe side effects, do not take more medication than your prescriber has instructed.

Contact your pediatrician or health care professional regarding the use of this medicine in children. Special care may be needed.

What if I miss a dose?

If you miss a dose, take it as soon as you can. If it is almost time for your next dose, take only that dose. Do not take double or extra doses.

What drug(s) may interact with tramadol?

• alcohol
• antihistamines (commonly found in allergy or cold products)
• bupropion
• cocaine
• digoxin
• droperidol
• drugs to regulate heart rhythm such as amiodarone, propafenone, quinidine
• furazolidone
• imatinib
• isoniazid, INH
• linezolid
• medicines called MAO inhibitors-phenelzine (Nardil®), tranylcypromine (Parnate®), isocarboxazid (Marplan®), selegiline (Eldepryl®)
• medicines for anxiety, depression, or sleeping problems
• medicines for nausea or vomiting
• medicines for Parkinson's disease such as entacapone, pramipexole, ropinirole or tolcapone
• medicines for mental problems like schizophrenia
• muscle relaxants
• naloxone
• other medicines for pain such as codeine, morphine, nalbuphine, pentazocine, or propoxyphene
• procarbazine
• rifampin
• ritonavir
• seizure medicines
• stimulants such as amphetamine or dextroamphetamine
• St. John's wort
• warfarin

Tell your prescriber or health care professional about all other medicines you are taking, including non-prescription medicines. Also tell your prescriber or health care professional if you are a frequent user of drinks with caffeine or alcohol, if you smoke, or if you use illegal drugs. These may affect the way your medicine works. Check with your health care professional before stopping or starting any of your medicines.

What side effects may I notice from taking tramadol?

Side effects that you should report to your prescriber or health care professional as soon as possible:
Rare or uncommon:
• changes in vision
• difficulty breathing, shortness of breath
• fast or irregular heartbeat
• hallucinations (seeing and hearing things that are not really there)
• passing urine more frequently than usual, or not passing urine as often as usual
• redness, blistering, peeling or loosening of the skin, including inside the mouth
• skin rash, itching
• seizures (convulsions)
More common:
• anxiety, agitation
• nausea
• vomiting

Side effects that usually do not require medical attention (report to your prescriber or health care professional if they continue or are bothersome):
• constipation or diarrhea
• difficulty sleeping
• dizziness, drowsiness
• dry mouth
• false sense of well being, feeling of unreality, mood changes
• headache
• indigestion
• itching

What should I watch for while taking tramadol?

Tell your prescriber or health care professional if your pain does not go away. Visit your prescriber or health care professional for regular checks on your progress if you are taking tramadol regularly.

Do not drive, use machinery, or do anything that needs mental alertness until you know how tramadol affects you. Be careful taking other medicines which may also make you tired. This effect may be worse when taking these medicines with tramadol. Alcohol can increase possible drowsiness, dizziness, confusion and affect your breathing. Avoid alcohol while taking tramadol.

Your mouth may get dry. Chewing sugarless gum, sucking hard candy and drinking plenty of water will help.

If you are going to have surgery, tell your prescriber or health care professional that you are taking tramadol.

Where can I keep my medicine?

Keep out of reach of children in a container that small children cannot open.

Store at room temperature between 15 and 30 degrees C (59 and 86 degrees F). Throw away any unused medicine after the expiration date.

Medicine Photos

Hover or click on a photo to enlarge it.

Medicine containing Amadol

Medicine containing Ultracet

Medicine containing Ultram

Medicine containing ULTRAM ER

Medicine containing Tramadol

This page uses publicly available data from the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), National Institutes of Health, Department of Health and Human Services; NLM is not responsible for the page and product and does not endorse or recommend this or any other product.